Rookie – Motorcycle Painting – Primers

Posted: September 16, 2010 By: no_commercial_please

Home Forums Kevin Tetz’s Korner Rookie – Motorcycle Painting – Primers

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Dear Prof. Kevin Tetz,
    This is my very first attempt to paint something with spray and automotive paint. I am computer scientist by trade, so really new to this area! I have some questions, and thought also about preparing article for Eastwood about my entire experience at the end, so I am sorry if my posts will get lengthy at times. I WILL TYPE MY QUESTIONS WITH “**NUMBERS” AND CAPITAL LETTERS, SO IT WOULD BE EASIER TO ANSWER THEM.
    So here is the deal. I want to modify body of my motorcycle. It is Yamaha V-Star 1100 Custom, I purchased some old tins on eBay for my bike (I did not want to risk my original ones) and plan to stretch my metal gas tank with fiberglass extension, and then paint it (and both fenders, which are both fiberglass). Here are the things I did so far, and some questions I have about my actions:
    1. I stripped the tank to bare metal using 60 and 80 grit, dry (boy, that was fun – I used old electric sender, and a lot of elbow grease). I glued the fiberglass extension at the back, and used Bondo to smooth out the join, and WET sanded it with 220 grit.
    2. I purchased from Eastwood the following items: 1) DeVilbiss Auto Paint and Priming System, Item #12506, 2) SAS Bandit Respirator Large, Item #11456 (I know I am cheap!), 3) Epoxy Primer and Catalyst Kit Gray Qt, Item #51126 ZP, and 4) Urethane primer: 4a) FM Urethane Primer Buff Quart, 50248 ZP, 4b) FM Urethane Clear 4:1 Activator 8 oz., 50249 ZP, which now, I believe, is also available as akit: 4c) FM Urethane Buff Primer and Actvtr Qt Kit, Item #EUPBQK ZP, AND HERE IS MY 1ST QUESTION.