New here, want your opinions about speed of powdering

Posted: November 7, 2009 By: stesch_s10

Home Forums Powder Coating New here, want your opinions about speed of powdering

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

stesch_s10

Hey guys and girls. I’m new here but not to powdering. I’ve got 3 years experience in powdering in bigger shops with all types of different items. Each person has their own speed and way of powdering parts, Correct? Well my co-worker (says he has 17 years experience) has fought with me many many times about the way I powder and the way he powders. We work with a conveyor line so the parts are always moving and we adjust the speed accordingly to the parts, (harder parts we slow down – faster parts we speed up)

My way (the way I was taught) was to keep the gun 6-8 inches away, with your passes, don’t go super slow but don’t go super fast either. Give the powder time to stick and apply itself to the part and judge how many times you go over the party by how the powder sticks. If your KV’s are down and the powder doesn’t stick as well then you have to go over it more times. If the KV’s are high and the powder sticks evenly then don’t go over the part as many times.

My co-workers way of powder is to keep the gun 6-8 inches away, go fast and do a lot of passes. and count the times you go over the part. No matter how high or low the KV’s are. As long as the powder seems to come out of the gun evenly then you don’t have to go over it anymore or anyless.