FrankenWallOven and powder coating bumpers instead of chroming

Posted: March 6, 2013 By: karlInSanDiego

Home Forums Powder Coating FrankenWallOven and powder coating bumpers instead of chroming

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Hi folks – I’m new to PC and the forums, am 43 years old, and have been doing restoration work on and off on cars and motorcycles as a hobby since I was 20. I have searched around a bit regarding the IR lamps and people’s custom ovens, and have ruled out lamps and don’t care to invest space or too much money/time in a giant custom oven with custom electronics. Here’s an idea I wanted to run past some experts to see if it’s plausible. I’m planning to pick up a used wall oven from Craigslist/Habitat/Appliance Dealer which has a convection feature. I would eventually prefer the ability to PC longer items (4 foot sections of 3-part bumpers) and thought one way to do it would be to devise an alternate door for the oven or extension out the front for the few jobs where I need big room. Motorcycle frames would definitely be a possible use. So picture a cube with front and back off, that I butt up against the oven without a door, and the door is refitted on the front of that. When not doing mongo parts, put the door back in its normal configuration, and store the oven extension out of the way. I thought convection, because I believe the heat won’t distribute evenly if I don’t use a fan, but I imagine I’d need to slow it way down or build a box around it to limit the fan’s turbulence blowing powder loose.